Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World History: Books, Databases and Librarian Help

A guide to get you started on your World History research. If you have any questions or would like more help, please see the librarian at the Reference Desk.

Librarian Help

Research Interviews!

Your friendly librarians are available to help you almost every day and every night of the week. Look for Mr. Jeffries or Mrs. Body for specialized help in choosing a topic and  or getting your research materials together. They can also help you with setting up your RefWorks account which will help you greatly in creating a bibliography as well as keeping track of your research.

Reference Books

Reference Books

Reference books are found on the first floor of the Library right behind the Reference Desk.  Most of the resources in Reference are appropriate to cite in a paper.  If you have a question concerning whether or not to use a reference book for your paper, check with the librarian at the Reference Desk.

The World History reference books are in the D and F sections of the Reference Collection.  Listed below is a breakdown of each section by classification and country.  Other History reference books are in the C section and a breakdown of each subject area is listed below as well.  All reference book call numbers start with REF.

C Auxiliary Sciences of History; CB History of Civilization; CC Archaelogy; CD Diplomatics/Archives/Seals; CE Chronology/Calendar; CJ Numismatics; CR Heraldry; CS Genealogy; CT Biography

D History (General); DA Great Britain; DC France; DD Germany; DE Greco-Roman World; DF Greece; DG Italy; DJK Eastern Europe; DK Russia/Soviet Union/Former Soviet Republics/Poland; DL Northern Europe/Scandanavia; DR Balkan Peninsula; DS Asia; DT Africa; DU Australia and Oceania

F Canada; Latin and Spanish America; the Caribbean; U.S. Local

 

Indexes

This guide includes an extensive list of databases and those are great to use, but if you want to go old school, The Ryan Library has paper indexes in the Reference Collection and an extensive collection of bound periodicals in the basement.  These resources may be beneficial if you are researching something from the early 1900s to the 1970s---topics like the Spanish-American War, Russian Revolution, World War I, World War I, the Korean Conflict, the British Invasion (music) or the Seven Days War.  Subjects are listed alphabetically and the indexes are arranged by date.  Ask for help at the Reference Desk if needed.

The New York Times Index 1851 - 2002

Pooles Index to Periodical Literature 1802 - 1906

The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature 1900 - 1989